Now Accepting Graduate Students for Fall 2024!

Interested? Awesome! Click below to find out more!

What you can expect: vibrant new lab with start up funds – including summer support; rigorous and exciting science; intellectual freedom; equitable and inclusive leadership; active mentoring and support of multiple career paths.

My mentoring style is flexible, I am more hands-on initially and then transition to a more hands-off approach as students make progress and gain experience. I also work with each student to tailor a mentoring regimen that fits their career goals. I have a Harris Lab Expectations and Handbook (to see handbook, go here: https://tinyurl.com/59f4sadk) which provides explicit information for students and details what they can expect from me; we discuss and then all students sign this upon entering my lab. This handbook is a living document and lab group discussion is used to edit and update this document as needed. I have recently updated the handbook with a greater focus on inclusivity, equity, and antiracist practice, as recommended by various published articles (e.g., Chaudhary, V. B., & Berhe, A. A. (2020). Ten simple rules for building an antiracist lab).

What I’m looking for: motivated, inquisitive, critically-thinking students with an interest in stress physiology, behavior, endocrinology, & ecology and evolution.

If you’d like to start a conversation to determine if we would be a good match, please email the below documents to me (breanna.n.harris@ttu.edu).

  1. Cover letter containing:
  • Your educational experiences and/or background, including GPA (adjusted to a 4.0 scale) and what program you are pursuing at TTU (see M.S. and Ph.D. options here; 1-2 paragraphs)
  • Why you chose to contact me/why you are interested in my lab (1-2 paragraphs)
  • Your research interests and ideas (the more specific you can be, the better; 1-2 paragraphs)
  • A description of your included writing sample (e.g., if the writing is from a class essay, provide enough detail for me to understand the context of the assignment) and why you chose that writing sample.
  1. CV
  2. A writing sample of your choosing
Breanna Harris, Ph.D.
Breanna Harris, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

I am a behavioral endocrinologist studying how organisms physiologically and behaviorally respond to and cope with challenges (stressors).